DnD Experience Wrap Up

I go to two major conventions a year. Gencon being one of them (since I live in Indianapolis I feel I am required to go), The other is DnD Experience. The latter being my favorite by far.

If you don’t know what DnD Experience is, I will give you the gist of it. It takes place at the end of January in Fort Wayne IN (don’t ask why Fort Wayne because I have no idea). It is mainly Dungeons and Dragons focused (hence the name). It is a smaller con so there are less crowds and it is more intimate (well as intimate as 500+ people can get).

Games I Ran:

This year, much like last year I decided to DM for Baldman Games (the group that runs the RPGA stuff for DDXP, origins and Gencon). If you DM at least 7 slots for them you get a free hotel room and some DM SWAG. So it is a pretty good deal since at a convention I would rather DM than play some times.

This year I decided to enter the DM challenge DM competition. This year’s theme was Hometown Heroes: Gamma World. I saw that and said to myself, “Gamma World adventure” yes please! So I created an adventure set in Indianapolis. Specifically Green Wood since I live just north of there. I did not win the competition but heard that 2 points separated first and last place so I don’t feel too bad. Plus I had fun and the players seemed to have fun as well and that is the whole point isn’t it? Though I would have loved to win since the prize was all the minis released last year.

The other 7 slots I ran went off without a hitch. Gamed with lots of cool people. All in all i ended up running 4 different adventures (counting my Gamma World adventure) all in the heroic tier. I saw some of the newer Essentials classes and was pretty impressed with how they worked.

Games I played:

On Wednesday i was signed up to play the Ashes of Athas 1 and 2. AoA is the new Darksun campaign that Baldman Games is going to be running at DDXP, Origins and Gencon. I played my Thri Kreen Arena Fighter Chan’Tho. The name is a Doctor Who reference for those keeping score. It was pretty fun. I just wish I had a chance to play the third one.

On Thursday I played the Classic. Which is where they take classic adventures and update them for 4e. It includes pregenerated characters. I played the evil drow assassin. Her goals were different than the other characters and it ended up getting me knocked unconscious and tied up by the party. Luckily they felt they needed me for the final battle and it gave me a chance to get the hell out of there. I wasn’t about to stick around with the party hating me and one healing surge left.

The Classic was also where you could try out the Fortune cards for the first time. Every played received 2 packs of them. They are free actions to use and give you minor bonuses. like gaining combat advantage or +1 to attack. Really I don’t see why everyone is so up in arms about them. I don’t hate them. The jury is still out on whether or not I will actually use them or not. I guess I have two packs of them to try out on other games.

I also got to play in the Paragon Special. I played my level 12 Dwarven Infernal Warlock Delbrek Darkhammer. I had recently retrained him as the new Essentials Hexblade.  I have to say that Hexblades are more strikery than regular warlocks. I love Delbrek now despite the fact that I retired the character a while back to focus on my Warforged Paladin of Gond, HAL.

DM SWAG:

I got all kinds of awesome stuff at the convention this year.

  • Castle Ravenloft
  • The new Gamma World Expansion; Legion of Gold
  • The Gamma World Promo Card “Two Headed” (Which a couple friends game me theirs so I ended up with 3 of them)
  • The new DM screen
  • The Wilderness Dungeon Tiles Set
  • the new Icewind Dale dungeon tiles set
  • Draconomicon: Metallic Dragons

I also bought myself the Doctor Who AITAS Aliens and Creatures set.

All in all I’d say it was an awesome convention. I was exhausted when it was done and couldn’t wait to sleep in my own bed and see my wife and kitties… But I cannot wait until next year.

Bring on Gen Con!

Leave a Reply

